Home Entrance Everyone Wiki Search Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. - Thinking of joining the forum??
April 25, 2024 - @44.49 (what is this?)
Forum activity rating: Three Star Posts: 45/1k.beats Unread Topics | Unread Replies | Own Posts | Own Topics | Random Topic | Recent Posts
News: :ozwomp: Reminder: Forum messages stay readable for years! Keep yours high quality! :ozwomp:

+  MelonLand Forum
|-+  World Wild Web
| |-+  ✁ ∙ Web Crafting
| | |-+  ☔︎ ∙ I need Help!
| | | |-+  HELP: Trying to create a sidebar in HTML

« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: HELP: Trying to create a sidebar in HTML  (Read 1133 times)
wrinkledlion

View Profile

First 1000 Members!Joined 2022!
« on: June 22, 2022 @135.71 »

Hey everybody! I'm a total beginner at HTML and web design. Does anyone have any advice on building a narrow sidebar on the left side of the screen, with the main content to its right?

My first site attempt is gonna be a fake facebook account, where I have lots of cool friends (and everyone loves me). I'm trying to replicate a basic version of this sort of layout:

I attempted some stuff using table formatting but it left a lot to be desired.

Thanks!
Melooon
Hero Member ⚓︎

So many stars!

SpaceHey: Friend Me!
StatusCafe: melon
iMood: Melonking
Itch.io: My Games

View Profile WWW

First 1000 Members!spring 2023!Squirtle!!!!MIDI WarriorMIDI Warrior1234 Posts!OzspeckCool Dude AwardRising Star of the Web AwardMessage BuddyPocket Icelogist!OG! Joined 2021!The Smallest Ozwomp Known To ManBug!
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2022 @421.31 »

Hmmm, this is a complex project, Im not sure I would recommend it as a first attempt at learning HTML; you can totally do it, but only as long as you accept there is no way its gonna be perfect as a beginner. You'd prob have more fun making a simpler site without such a fixed design goal.