Home Events! Entrance Everyone Wiki Search Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. - Thinking of joining the forum??
November 22, 2024 - @139.22 (what is this?)
Forum activity rating: Three Stars Posts: 32/1k.beats Unread Topics | Unread Replies | My Stuff | Random Topic | Recent Posts    Start New Topic
News: :4u: Love is not possession  :4u:

+  MelonLand Forum
|-+  World Wild Web
| |-+  ✁ ∙ Web Crafting
| | |-+  ☔︎ ∙ I need Help!
| | | |-+  Best way to make a marquee?


« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Best way to make a marquee?  (Read 731 times)
larvapuppy
Full Member ⚓︎
***


⛺︎ My Room

View Profile WWW

First 1000 Members!Joined 2023!
« on: April 27, 2024 @59.41 »

I really like those scrolling marquee sections on people's sites where they show off their buttons, stamps, blinkies etc. I'm wondering how to create one that will hold as many graphics as I want. I tried using css animations to do it but it seems to cut off at the width of the page. I think some people might use a script to do it? Any advice is appreciated  :transport:
Logged

the end of an era, one starts anew
Memory
Guest
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2024 @66.25 »

I really like those scrolling marquee sections on people's sites where they show off their buttons, stamps, blinkies etc. I'm wondering how to create one that will hold as many graphics as I want. I tried using css animations to do it but it seems to cut off at the width of the page. I think some people might use a script to do it? Any advice is appreciated  :transport:

I'm not sure if this works on neocities but lots of resources carrds have textbox codes.
Logged
xixxii
Full Member ⚓︎
***


they/them

⛺︎ My Room

View Profile WWW

Web 1.0 Picture Size Expertthe xixxiiJoined 2024!
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2024 @238.30 »

the <marquee> tag is probably the simplest way  :cheesy:

+ you can always poke around in other people's html/css if you like the way they've done something in particular and want to steal it. just right click and select "view page source" or "inspect" :)
Logged

Melooon
Hero Member ⚓︎
*****


So many stars!

⛺︎ My Room
SpaceHey: Friend Me!
StatusCafe: melon
iMood: Melonking
Itch.io: My Games

View Profile WWW

Thanks for being rad!a puppy for your travelsAlways My PalFirst 1000 Members!spring 2023!Squirtle!!!!MIDI WarriorMIDI Warrior1234 Posts!OzspeckCool Dude AwardRising Star of the Web AwardMessage BuddyPocket Icelogist!OG! Joined 2021!...
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2024 @515.56 »

The classic HTML marquee is the easy option, but its rendering style is very clunky (it moves in jerky steps), that will suit some sites, but you can also do smoother marquees using CSS - this is the code the forum uses:

Code
<span class="marquee"><span>My scrolling text</span></span>

<style>
.marquee span {
    width: max-content;
    display: inline-block;
    animation: marquee 25s linear infinite;
    padding-left: 100%;
}

.marquee span:hover {
  animation-play-state: paused
}

@keyframes marquee {
    0% { transform: translate(0, 0); }
    100% { transform: translate(-100%, 0); }
}
</style>
Logged


everything lost will be recovered, when you drift into the arms of the undiscovered
larvapuppy
Full Member ⚓︎
***


⛺︎ My Room

View Profile WWW

First 1000 Members!Joined 2023!
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2024 @818.70 »

The classic HTML marquee is the easy option, but its rendering style is very clunky (it moves in jerky steps), that will suit some sites, but you can also do smoother marquees using CSS - this is the code the forum uses:

Thank you! This was what I was looking for. I hope you don't mind, but I have a couple of follow-up questions. I tried it out on my Everyone page here, and there a couple of things that I'd like to change before adding it to my website, but I'm not sure how.

  • It looks like the marquee increases the width of the page approximately by the width of the marquee content. Is there a way to avoid this so that the marquee stays "hidden" off-page and doesn't widen the page?
  • If I wanted to make a really long marquee, would there be some way to make it 'loop' back around onto itself without there being a space in between the end of the first loop and the start of the 2nd loop?

If Melon or anyone else knows the answers I'd be grateful for the info! :transport:
Logged

the end of an era, one starts anew
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
 

Vaguely similar topics! (3)

An enemy from the game I'm trying to make

Started by Grafo VolaveruntBoard ➶ ∙ Art Gallery

Replies: 3
Views: 1705
Last post March 22, 2022 @61.42
by Grafo Volaverunt
GUIDE: How to make a Website!

Started by MelooonBoard ✁ ∙ Web Crafting

Replies: 1
Views: 2735
Last post March 14, 2023 @665.66
by Inkerlink
Make up dumb pomes!

Started by MelooonBoard ✑ ∙ Writing & Stationery

Replies: 9
Views: 1680
Last post April 14, 2024 @631.85
by kurohaato

Melonking.Net © Always and ever was! SMF 2.0.19 | SMF © 2021, Simple Machines | Terms and Policies Forum Guide | Rules | RSS | WAP | Mobile


MelonLand Badges and Other Melon Sites!

MelonLand Project! Visit the MelonLand Forum! Support the Forum
Visit Melonking.Net! Visit the Gif Gallery! Pixel Sea TamaNOTchi